Extended ascii code

How many binary digits are needed to represent a character in ASCII and Extended ASC1 together?

How many binary digits are needed to represent a character in ASCII and Extended ASC1 together?

In computers, “number of bits” is not generally discussed.

Rather, it is 8 bits of binary, called: a byte.

The basic ASCII code, although 7-bit, exists in computers and takes up one byte.

The extended ASCII code, also takes up one byte.

But today’s computers don’t generally use “extended ASCII”.

Instead, they use a “two-byte kanji code”, which represents “one kanji character”.

Question about extended ASCII?

I don’t know what extended ASCII is, but I think it’s just pure ASCII on this question

The ASCII code for ‘0’ is 48: converted to binary that’s 00110000

‘ The ASCII code for ‘2’ is 50: converted to binary that’s 00110010

The ASCII code for ‘8’ is 56: converted to binary that’s 00111000

The above left-most ones are in single quotes to indicate that they are characters, not numbers. not numbers, the one you see indicates that it’s just the ASCII code of the 4 characters linked together. The fact that the first ones are 0011 just happens to be that their binary representation is 48 plus a number

This representation is just the encoding of the characters, and has nothing to do with C. In C you write char. In C you write charc=’0′; the memory is not 00110000 and you use the encoding related to the C compiler will be based on different encoding to do different storage

There are two versions of ASCII character encoding: 7-bit and 8-bit, and the internationally recognized 7-bit ASCII,

First of all, ASCII character encoding is divided into 7-bit and 8-bit codes, and 7-bit code is the standard ASCII code, which is a total of 2^7=128 kinds of different codes. Then there is a kind of extended ASCII code, which is based on the original extra 128

Special symbol characters, foreign language letters, etc., so a total of 8-bit, and is 2^8 = 256 different codes.


Code uses a specified combination of 7 or 8

bit binary numbers to represent 12

or 256 possible characters. The standard ASCII

code, also called the base ASCII code, uses a 7

-bit binary number (with the remaining 1 bit of binary as a 0) to represent all upper- and lower-case letters, the digits 0

through 9, punctuation marks,

and special control characters used in American English.

The last 128 are called Extended ASCII. Many x86-based systems support the use of extended (or “high”) ASCII.Extended ASCII

Code allows the 8th

bit of each character to be used to determine an additional 128

special symbol characters, foreign language alphabets, and graphic symbols.

Extended information:

History of the development of Extended ASCII (8-bit code):


1981 IBM


ROM256 character set, known as the IBM Extended Character Set.


1985 11

The Windows character set was called the “ANSI Character Set”, following the ANSI draft and the ISO standard (ANSI/ISO 8859-1-1987, short for “Latin

). Latin



April 1987 Code Page 437, the character image code, appeared in MS-DOS 3.3.